Announcement of the artists selected for the pan-african exhibition

Further to the call for applications to take part in the Pan-African exhibition of the 11th edition of the Rencontres de Bamako, entitled Afrotopia, we received more than 300 applications from artists and collectives based across the African continent or in its diasporas.

The ongoing interest shown by the artists towards the Rencontres de Bamako is a major source of motivation and makes this event meaningful.

The selection committee was composed of the Artistic Director, Marie-Ann Yemsi, the General Delegate of the Rencontres de Bamako, Samuel Sidibé, as well as members of the Curatorial Advisory Committee, Sammy Baloji, Olfa Feki, Rébecca Lamarche-Vadel, Lekgetho James Makola, Aïda Muluneh, and Azu Nwagbogu.

40 proposals have been chosen and we are pleased to announce the names of the selected artists and collectives.

The members of the selection committee and the Rencontres de Bamako team carefully reviewed each application, and were impressed by the quality and diversity of entries. They sincerely thank all artists who applied and congratulate those who have been selected.

Full list in alphabetical order :

Héla AMMAR (Tunisia) 
Bianca BALDI (South Africa) 
Raphaël BARONTINI (France) 
Neil BELOUFA (France – Algeria)
Zied BEN ROMDHANE (Tunisia)
Girma BERTA (Ethiopia)
Sibusiso BHEKA (South Africa)

Heba Y. AMIN (Egypt), Dawit L. PETROS (Eritrea – Canada)

Mai AL SHAZLY (Égypte), Yvonne BUCHHEIM (Germany), Magdalena KALLENBERGER (Germany), Hagar MASOUD (Egypt), Nadia MOUNIER (Egypt), Omneia NAGUIB (Egypt)

Joana CHOUMALI (Ivory Coast) 
Julien CREUZET (France) 
Mounir FATMI (France – Morocco) 
Rahima GAMBO (Nigeria) 
Gabrielle GOLIATH (South Africa) 
Eric GYAMFI (Ghana) 
Kelvin HAIZEL (Ghana) 
Mahamoud IBRAHIM (Comoros) 
Délio JASSE (Angola)
Hélène JAYET (France – Mali) 
Lola KEYEZUA (Angola)
Phumzile KHANYILE (South Africa) 
Youcef KRACHE (Algeria) 
Michael MCGARRY (South Africa)
George MAHASHE (South Africa)
Fototala King MASSASSY (Mali)
Teddy MAZINA (Burundi)
Mpho MOKGADI (South Africa) 
Baudouin MOUANDA (Republic of the Congo) 
Joseph MOURA (DR Congo)
Musa NXUMALO (South Africa) 
Qudus ONIKEKU (Nigeria)
Alain POLO (DR Congo) 
Rina RALAY-RANAIVO (Madagascar) 
Athi-Patra RUGA (South Africa)
Fethi SAHRAOUI (Algeria) 
Christian SANNA (Madagascar – France)
Zina SARO-WIWA (Nigeria)
Bogosi SEKHUKHUNI (South Africa)
Georges SENGA (DR Congo) 
Sarah WAISWA (Uganda – Kenya)

Comment on this article