Official Carrier of Bamako Encounters

The FORUM - Professional days from 2 to 5 December

Curator: Marie-Ann Yemsi with the collaboration of the members of the Committee of curatorial advisors
Curatorial assistant: Astrid Lepoultier

3 x 2 to 2.5 hour sessions – mornings of 3, 4 and 5 December.
Location: National Museum of Mali, in a dedicated outdoor area.

Audience: open to all. All the artists invited to Bamako by the biennale will be present. The programme of speakers and contributions will be available at the end of October.

The Forum organises professional workshops at the Biennale Village in a new system based on the artists’ active participation.

The workshops, which will take place from 2 to 5 December 2017 will gather together all participating artists, partners, professionals from around the world and African and international media. The Forum will provide an opportunity to experiment with a new approach and system of professional meetings, focusing on a collaborative and collective dynamic and the active participation of the artists. An academic format is not always appropriate and is often intimidating for the artists who might not necessarily have knowledge of how it functions. The Forum sessions have therefore been designed to facilitate the creation of spaces of unfettered freedom, and to suggest tools and avenues for debate that will promote sharing and the collective emergence of a different form of knowledge. This approach thereby repositions the artists at the nexus of discussions and helps give their words greater impact, in unrestricting formats.

Each session features contributions by artists represented in the biennale’s exhibitions (performances, performed readings, etc.), dialogue and discussions with intellectuals from Africa or its diasporas (writers, philosophers, musicians, choreographers, cultural producers, etc.).

▪ 3 December 2017 – This first session will focus on the exploration of concerns raised by the artists in the Pan-African exhibition, Afrotopia.

▪ 4 December 2017 – The second session will offer an opportunity to examine the status of images produced by the artists. We are constantly bombarded with a stream of images, and under the influence of their immediate aesthetic or cognitive effect we rarely take the time to examine their origins, their presuppositions or their subtexts. From fictional narratives to documentary accounts, what is the role and the responsibility of photographers and video- makers in their handling and broadcasting?

▪ 5 December 2017 – The final session will examine the implications of the biennale at a time when this type of event is proliferating and the opportunities for reinventing forms of cultural production and methods of teaching the arts in Africa.

Institut Français
Ministère de la Culture de l’Artisanat et du Tourisme du Mali
© BAMAKO ENCOUNTERS

Transporteur Officiel des Rencontres de Bamako

Le FORUM – Journées professionnelles du 2 au 5 décembre

Commissaire : Marie-Ann Yemsi avec la complicité des membres du comité de Conseillers curatoriaux
Assistante curatoriale : Astrid Lepoultier
3 sessions de 2 heures à 2h30 – matinées des 3, 4 et 5 décembre.
Lieu : Musée National du Mali, espace dédié en extérieur.
Public : ouvert à tous. Tous les artistes invités par la Biennale à Bamako seront présents.
Le programme des intervenants et des contributions sera disponible fin octobre.

Le Forum structure les rencontres professionnelles au Village de la Biennale dans une nouvelle dynamique basée sur la participation active des artistes.

Les journées professionnelles réunissent, du 2 au 5 décembre 2017, tous les artistes participants, les partenaires, les professionnels du monde entier et la presse africaine et internationale. Nous proposons avec Le Forum, d’expérimenter une nouvelle approche et mise en œuvre des rencontres professionnelles, centrée sur une dynamique collaborative et collective et sur la participation active des artistes. Le format académique n’étant pas toujours approprié et souvent intimidant pour les artistes qui ne disposent pas nécessairement de ces savoirs, les sessions du Forum sont imaginées de façon à créer des espaces de liberté, proposer des outils et des pistes de réflexions afin de favoriser le partage et l’émergence collective d’un autre savoir. Cette démarche tend ainsi à réinscrire les artistes au centre des débats et à favoriser l’accueil de leurs paroles, sous des formes libres.
Chaque session propose des contributions d’artistes présentés dans les expositions de la biennale (performances, lectures performées…) et des échanges, débats avec des intellectuels du continent ou des diasporas (écrivains, philosophes, musiciens, chorégraphes, producteurs culturels…)

  • 3 décembre 2017 – Cette première session sera articulée autour d’une exploration des questionnements posés par les artistes dans le cadre de l’exposition panafricaine Afrotopia.
  • 4 décembre 2017 – La seconde session proposera une réflexion sur le statut des images produites par les artistes. Dans le flux permanent d’images dont nous sommes assaillis, sous l’influence de leur effet esthétique ou cognitif immédiat nous prenons rarement le temps d’en examiner les origines, les présupposés, les sous-entendus. Des narrations fictionnées aux récits documentaires, quel est le rôle et la responsabilité du photographe ou du vidéaste dans leur manipulation et leur diffusion ?
  • 5 décembre 2017 – La dernière session questionnera les enjeux de la biennale dans un temps de prolifération de ce type de manifestations et les possibilités de réinvention des formes de production culturelles et de pédagogie des enseignements artistiques sur le continent.
Institut Français
Ministère de la Culture de l’Artisanat et du Tourisme du Mali
© RENCONTRES DE BAMAKO